Posted by: libbith | July 6, 2009

To My Future Self #2

You are stronger and more prepared then you think. You also can push yourself harder and further than you think.  When the going gets tough–and the going WILL get tough–remember to dig down deeper, block out the thoughts of pain, and remember all the reasons you are doing this, both selfish and selfless. [Editor’s note: I just wrote this post, published it, and then re-read my first notes to myself and realize that, almost word for word, I wrote this already! I’m going to leave it up anyway because, clearly, it is something I want to remember.]

Don’t sweat the small stuff, you’ll be sweating enough from the heat! This morning, I spilled coffee all over a freshly laundered dress before even getting into work.  Because of the weekend and the weather, however, I was in such a good mood that I only let this bother me for a few minutes, and then forgot about it.  Things are going to go wrong on race day, whether they are small things (walking a bit in the run) or big things (getting a flat tire).  Dealing with them and then forgetting them will be the only way to get through the rest of the race and to enjoy yourself.  So remember that, despite your tendency to fixate on the negative, you have the ability to stay positive.

Responses

  1. absolutely!


Leave a Reply

Categories

