Posted by: libbith | June 24, 2009

Vocabulary Lesson

Main Entry: hard–core           Listen to the pronunciation of hard–core
Pronunciation: \-ˈkr\
Function: adjective
Date: 1940

1 a: of, relating to, or being part of a hard core <hard–core poverty> <the hard–core unemployed> b: confirmed, die-hard <hard–core rock fans> <a hard–core liberal>

Ok, so this definition has almost nothing to do with what I mean here, but I have wondered during this whole thing when I can officially call myself “hardcore.”  At first, I was going to start saying it when I had my first Gu.  That, however, made me feel even less hardcore as it was awful and I felt like a total poseur.

I think, however, that as of last night, I am hardcore.  Or I will tell myself that to feel better.  At GTS yesterday we  ran 7 1/4 miles, my longest run ever.  I was absolutely dripping sweat the entire time and wanted to crawl in a ball and go to bed for the last 3.  After the run, I went and got a smoothie based on an “article” I’d read online.  I drank some with my friend, started feeling out of it, and went home to lie down.  About an hour later, I got up to get some water, ran to the bathroom, and put my smoothie into the toilet.

So, instead of chastising myself for not hydrating enough (even though I tried really, really hard to), I am just going to say that I am hardcore because a workout made me sick.

Responses

  1. Wowwww… 7 1/4 miles !!! Fantastic. Very, very impressive. And, the Pumpkinman T, too !!!

    In my opinion, you are ‘hardcore’ because you are ‘out there’ training no matter what the weather or how you feel 🙂

    And, you are truly a writer, your blog is greaaaat !

    XO


Leave a Reply

Categories

