Posted by: libbith | June 18, 2009

Vacation Exercise: A Lesson in Oxymoron

In an attempt to clear my head, be better at maintaining this blog, and get some of my ideas finally down on “paper”, I was going through some posts I had started drafting and never finished, and found the title and these images saved:

Rocky Portuguese Beach

Beautiful Beach

Vineyard Wysteria

I had been intending, way back on March 26th, to write a post about how unsuccessful training was while on vacation.  I was going to gripe about the “heat” (which I now realize was incredibly pleasant weather), talk about how unnatural it felt to be beholden to a schedule when I was supposed to be relaxing, and how I did manage to splash around in the teeny tiny hotel pool a few times.  Then, I was going to switch gears and wax poetic about the absolutely fabulous day my boyfriend and I had cycling along the Portuguese coastline, stopping at a secluded beach, meeting a really interesting Portuguese-Brit, and visiting a tile factory and winery at the end of the day.  Then I was going to get sappy and say none of that would have ever happened if I hadn’t started training, so thank you training for giving me my favorite vacation day.

Too bad I never got around to it.

Instead, I’ll use this space to mention how much I am ready for a vacation and how, now that excersing has become a more integral part of my routine and I am gradually falling madly in love with cycling, I really want to take a full bike vacation, replete with long lunches, unexpected encounters, and a beautiful European country side.

Responses

  1. Beautiful pictures. Ahhhh, vacations!

  2. Not much longer until you get to be on one! So jealous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

