Posted by: libbith | February 2, 2009

I’m a “Runner”?

On December 4th, 2008, I went to a meeting for Team in Training to find out about their triathlon training programs.  Ever since leaving high school and being involved in some level of sports, I’ve known that I need to incorporate regular exercise into my routine.  The problem has always been simple: I hate it.  Even being on the swim team, which I am now really glad I did, took a lot of not-so-gently encouragement from my parents.  Being a goal oriented person and already having an affinity towards the water and cycling, more than running at least, I thought it might be a good idea to train for a triathlon, thereby forcing three sports and 6 day-per-week workouts into my routine.  At said meeting, I paid them $80 to sign up without thinking it through and committing to start training two days later.

On December 6th, after much panicking and discussion with family, boyfriend, and friends, I decide to backpeddle (pun intended, sort of) slightly, and start with getting in better shape and tackling my biggest exercise fear, running.  That day, my boyfriend and I started on a “couch to 5k” running plan.  We began that Saturday running for one minute at a time, and I thought I would die.

On February 1st, my boyfriend and I ran in a race sponsored by New York Road Runners.  At 37:57 and 42:44 respectively, we finished a 4 mile race in Central Park.

While the road was often hilly (I can see these puns and analogies are going to be all too frequent) , it really was quite an accomplishment for two natural couch potatoes.  Unfortunately, I have to keep reminding myself of that as I tend to see goals in the future, and not those that I have just accomplished.  This blog will hopefully help me to remember where I’ve come from as I attempt to leap from 4 miles in February to an Olympic distance triathlon on July 26th.  Additionally, I plan to work through the frustration of being so physical through this verbal exercise that comes much more naturally to me.

Speaking of frustration, just a quick story about race day:  I tend to struggle with anxiety when it comes to things that I’m apprehensive about or are the unkown.  And when I say “tend to”, I really mean, always.  The night before the race, I woke up at 3am.  By 6am, I realized I wasn’t going back to bed before our alarm at 7.  I’m incredibly mad at myself for creating so much hype and stress around something as straightforward as following a few thousand people around a road.  What I am proud of, however, is that I didn’t use the lack of sleep as an excuse to back out.  I easily could have, and definitely had a pretty rough Superbowl Sunday because of the strain on my body, but it was certainly worth it sticking to the plan and accomplishing my goal.  Here’s to accomplishing the next goal, and the one after that, and after that…..

Responses

  1. Keep going. I’m so proud of you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

